Each year I volunteer at my daughter’s school to teach Bravo, a fabulous music appreciation program. Although I really know nothing about music–seriously, I can barely work my iPod, let alone play an instrument or sing–I love the program. Not only do I get to learn about music, I get to spend time sharing what I’ve learned in my daughter’s class. I attended Bravo training yesterday morning.

The following was included in the Bravo training manual. It was written by Spanish cellist and conductor Pablo Casals, considered by many the greatest cellist of the 20th century, and was intended for parents and teachers. I thought it was worth sharing.

Pablo Casals

Pablo Casals

“Each second we live is a new and unique moment in the universe, a moment that never was before and never will be again. And what do we teach our children in school? We teach them that two and two are four and that Paris is the capital of France.

“When will we also teach them what they are? We should say to each of them: Do you know what you are? You are a marvel. You are unique. In all the world there is no other child exactly like you. In the millions of years that have passed, there has never been a child like you.

“And look at your body–what a wonder it is! Your legs, your arms, your cunning fingers, the way you move! You may become a Shakespeare, a Michelangelo, a Beethoven. You have the capacity for anything. Yes, you are a marvel. And when you grow up, can you harm another who is, like you, a marvel? You must cherish one another. We must all work to make this world worthy of its children.”

Be well!

