As I finished up CorePower Yoga‘s Seasonal Wellness Cleanse this past weekend, I found myself thinking about–you guessed it–coffee. No longer thinking about the fact that I couldn’t partake, but instead thinking about whether I would make it a regular part of my morning routine or remain caffeine-free.

Like so many people, I was stuck in the All or Nothing mindset. Either coffee becomes the start of everyday or I give it up completely.

Unfortunately, neither extreme sounded very appealing.

My body is no longer addicted to caffeine and I feel really good. I don’t want to feel as though I need my morning coffee to function. On the other hand, I really do miss it. And I really do get pleasure from it.

While struggling is probably too strong a word–it’s certainly wasn’t overtaking my life–I was devoting more thought and energy to the subject than it deserved.

I was stuck just like so many who don’t adopt healthier eating habits because they don’t want to completely give up the “junk” they love.

On about the third day of my internal debate regarding coffee, I told myself to snap out of it. Loosen up. Be more flexible. Find some middle ground.

I truly enjoy my morning coffee. It gives me real pleasure. But, I don’t need to drink it everyday and I really don’t want to be addicted to caffeine.

So, I compromised with myself. I am now a 2-3 morning per week coffee drinker. The other mornings I drink my cranberry tea (which I’ve actually come to enjoy–but not as much as coffee).

The best of both worlds: I still get to enjoy my coffee, but I’m not dependent on it.

Be well!

